Could "solar hydrogen" produced from sunlight serve as energy alternative to oil in the Antarctic? A feasibility study by HZB experts in artificial photosynthesis within the "Experiment!" funding initiative. Next deadline for applications for "Experiment!": July 10, 2019

With the MOONRISE project, the Laser Zentrum Hannover e. V. (LZH) and the Institute of Space Systems (IRAS) of the Technical University of Braunschweig are aiming at melting moon dust with a laser in order to make it usable as building material.

Even though the governments of their home countries are at loggerheads – at New Europe College (NEC), young researchers from all the Black Sea countries work together peacefully on joint projects – and thus fulfill the vision of NEC founder Andrej Plesu.

A dinosaur project funded by the Volkswagen Foundation comes to an end with an unusual approach to communicating its results: A graphic novel based on scientific findings intended to stimulate the imagination of an ecosystem that is 154 million years old.

Robot psychologist Martina Mara puts in a plea for a more visionary approach to robotics and artificial intelligence – and to bridge the gaps between the disciplines. This is also what the Volkswagen Foundation's funding initiative "Artificial Intelligence and the Society of the Future" stands for, the next application deadline is July 4, 2019.

Fresh water as a precious resource. A young Kenyan scientist has made this her theme – one that has accompanied her through her scientific career.

A panel member of this year's German Research Summit, science journalist Manuela Lenzen discusses how artificial intelligence (AI) affects society. In the following interview, the author of "AI – What it can do and what awaits us" answers some fundamental questions on the topic.

The Nobel Laureate Stefan Hell and the Secretary General of the Volkswagen Foundation Wilhelm Krull on the sirens of assembly-line research, fainthearted experts and courageous free spirits. 

Plants that behave like the famous Pavlovian dog? Researchers in Tubingen are attempting to find out whether plants show comparable reflexes – and can therefore be regarded as capable of learning.