Board of Trustees

Board Meeting in the Office of the Foundation in Hannover-Döhren (Photo: Florian Müller)
Board Meeting in the Office of the Foundation in Hannover-Döhren (Photo: Florian Müller)
The Foundation is governed by a Board of Trustees. Each of the Trustees, seven of whom are nominated by the Federal Government of Germany and seven by the Government of the State of Lower Saxony, is appointed for a term of five years and may be reappointed once. In making its decisions, the Board of Trustees is bound solely to the statutes of the Volkswagen Foundation.

Dr. Gabriele Heinen-Kljajić
Minister of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony
(Photo: MWK)

Dr. Georg Schütte

Dr. Georg Schütte
(Vice Chairperson)
State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Professor Dr. Stefan Treue
(Vice Chairperson)
Director of the German Primate Center, Göttingen; Professor for Cognitive Neurosciences and Biopsychology, University of Göttingen

Professor Dr. Thomas Carell
Professor of Organic Chemistry, Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich

Professor Dr.-Ing Heinz Jörg Fuhrmann
Chairman of the Executive Board of Salzgitter AG, Salzgitter

Professor Dietmar Harhoff, Ph.D.
Director at the Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition; Honorary Professor at the University of Munich

Professor Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Leohold
Executive Director of Group Research at Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft

Professor Dr. Jürgen Osterhammel
Chair of Modern and Contemporary History, University of Konstanz

Professor Dr. Antje Schwalb
Head of Institute of Geosystem and Bioindication, Technische Universität Braunschweig
(Photo: TU Braunschweig, Press and Communication)

Professor Dr. Heike Solga
Head of research unit "Skill Formation and Labor Markets", WZB - Berlin Social Science Center; Professor for Sociology at Freie Universität Berlin
(Photo: David Ausserhofer)

Michael Sommer
Chairperson of the Confederation of German Trade Unions (DGB) (2002-2014), Berlin

Professor Dr. Beate Söntgen
Vice President for Research and Humanities of Leuphana University Lüneburg, Professor of Art History

Professor Dr. Johanna Wanka
Federal Minister for Education and Research, Bonn/Berlin

Professorin Dr. Waltraud Wende
Ministry of Education and Culture Issues of Schleswig-Holstein (2012-2014)